Managing Users and Roles
Users and Roles
Within the Shipium console, you can add users from your organization (or contractors, etc.) using the Manage Users item within Team Management in the Sidebar.
Clicking on Manage Users will open the portion of the console that allows you to add new users, remove existing users or modify users as needed.
The Shipium console has 3 basic roles.
- User - Able to run reports and see some settings within the console.
- Editor - Able to do everything a User can do, plus edit common settings.
- Administrator - Able to do everything an Editor can do, plus manage Account-level settings and administer new and existing Users and Editors.
Manage Users Page
Within Manage Users, you can see the list of users and modify them, depending on your permissions. If you are an Administrator and want to add new team members, this is the place to do it.
Adding a New User
To add a new user (regardless of permissions), you first click on the "Add User" button in the top right hand portion of the page.
This will then pull open a modal window that will allow you to enter details of the new user, including their email, name and role. Populate these values and click the "Submit" button to save the new user.
Modifying Existing Users
If you need to change details for an existing user, including name or role, you first click on "Modify User" within the "Actions" drop-down next to the user you wish to modify.
This will bring open the same modal for adding a new user (as above), but with the values for this user already populated. You can edit them as needed and click the "Submit" button to save the changes.
Email Address Can't Be Changed
Because email address is used as a unique identifier, you cannot edit it. If you have a user who needs to have their email address changed, remove them and add a new user for them with the new email address.
Removing Existing Users
Administrators may remove existing users by clicking on the "Remove User" link within the "Actions" drop-down next to the user you wish to remove. After clicking "Remove User", you will be asked to confirm that you really want to remove this user.
Once you confirm, the user will be removed.
Removing a User Is Permanent
Once a user has been removed, this is permanent. You can, of course, always add a new user with the same email address, name, etc. but any information specifically associated with the original user will not transfer to the newly created user.
Password Resets are completely self-service and can be done by clicking on the Forgot Password link on the main site: CONSOLESITE.
Updated over 1 year ago